SOTD: C Moon

Of the McCartney songs he’s ever written, this is the one stuck in my head the last few days?

C moon c moon c moon is she.
C moon c moon c moon to me.

How come no one older than me
Ever seems to understand the things I wanna to do?
It will be l7 and I’d never get to heaven
If I filled my head with glue
What’s it all to you?

C moon, c moon, c moon is she
C moon, c moon, c moon to me

Bobby lived with patty
But they never told her daddy
What their love was all about
She could tell her lover that he thought but
She never was the type to let it out
What’s it all about?

C moon, c moon, oh c moon are we
C moon, c moon, c moon are we

How come no one older than me
Ever seems to understand the things I wanna to do?
It will be l7 and I’d never get to heaven
If I filled my head with glue
What’s it all to you?

C moon, c moon, c moon is she
C moon, c moon, c moon to me

Bobby lived with patty
But they never told her daddy
What their love was all about
She could tell her lover that he thought but
She never wanted to let it out
What’s it all about?

C moon, c moon, c moon are we
C moon, c moon, c moon are we

Well what’s it all about?

C moon, c moon, c moon are we
C moon are we

Released as the B-side to Hi Hi Hi, McCartney explained that the song’s title is said to be the opposite of the ’60s expression “L-7,” meaning “a square” or an unhip person. A C Moon forms a circle, which is said be cool. McCartney heard the expression in the song Wooly Bully where they sing, “Let’s not be L-7, come and learn to dance.”

Hi Hi Hi was banned on the radio, so DJ’s flipped the record over making this a top 5 hit.

Leave a Reply

