SOTD: The Beatles – Revolution

“The statement in ‘Revolution’ was mine. The lyrics stand today. It’s still my feeling about politics. I want to see the plan. That is what I used to say to Abbie Hoffman and Jerry Rubin. Count me out if it is for violence. Don’t expect me to be on the barricades unless it is with flowers. For years, on the Beatles’ tours, Brian Epstein had stopped us from saying anything about Vietnam or the war. And he wouldn’t allow questions about it. But on one of the last tours, I said, ‘I’m going to answer about the war. We can’t ignore it.’ I absolutely wanted the Beatles to say something about the war.”
John Lennon – 1980

Probably my favorite Beatles song, though it’s impossible to pick.  To me, it was the first statement song I remember. Rather than expressing an emotion, this song expressed an idea. It influenced the way I think.

Some say this song was the first “heave metal” song.

A-side: “Hey Jude” (double A-side)
Released: 26 August 1968
Recorded:  9–13 July 1968

In 1987, “Revolution” became the first Beatles recording to be licensed for use in a television commercial.  **BOOOO**. The three surviving Beatles sued. **YEAH**. They lost. **BOOOO**
Lyric:
You say you want a revolution
Well, you know
We all want to change the world
You tell me that it’s evolution
Well, you know
We all want to change the world
But when you talk about destruction
Don’t you know that you can count me out
Don’t you know it’s gonna be all right
All right, all right

Well, you know
We’d all love to see the plan
You ask me for a contribution
Well, you know
We’re doing what we can
But when you want money
For people with minds that hate
All I can tell is brother you have to wait
Don’t you know it’s gonna be all right
All right, all right
Ah

Ah, ah, ah, ah, ah…

You say you’ll change the constitution
Well, you know
We all want to change your head
You tell me it’s the institution
Well, you know
You better free you mind instead
But if you go carrying pictures of chairman Mao
You ain’t going to make it with anyone anyhow
Don’t you know it’s gonna be all right
All right, all right
All right, all right, all right
All right, all right, all right

Leave a Reply

