Poem: Drive

25547049570_51a1448208_o

When I start my car don’t watch me drive away
Cause I don’t care, I don’t care
I am numb from all the pain
I’ll drive away, I’ll drive away, I’ll drive away
Just to find peace of mind
I will drive in a straight line
I’ll go away, I’ll go away, I’ll go away
Cause I am done, I am done
I am done with all your games

And I won’t look back to see you standing there
Cause I am gone, I am gone
Now the king takes down the pawn
I’ll let you be, I’ll let you be, I’ll let you be
I’ll cutaway, throwaway
all the damage that you’ve done
I’ll find a way, I’ll find a way, I’ll find a way
to survive, to survive
to survive all my dismay

No, don’t think of me when you’re by yourself
Cause you’re alone, you’re alone
You’re hold on me was overblown
Won’t change my mind, won’t change my mind, won’t change my mind
Now you’ll see what you see
You can change or let it be
That’s all on you, it’s all on you, it’s all on you
You decide, you decide
You decide what you value

Cause I’ll keep the breath that I’m taking now
I’m alive, I’m alive
Have not been for a long time
I’ll live my life , I’ll live my life, I live my life
Won’t postpone, it’s set in stone
The next thing you’ll see is my tombstone
This is goodbye, this is goodbye, this is goodbye
Nows my time, nows my time
Nows my time to roll the dice

 

Photo and composition by Jeffrey A. Boyer
Photo Title: He Mourns With Them

All rights reserved.

10 thoughts on “Poem: Drive

    • I can hear the trumpets staccato response to the lyric, the drums bouncing around the down beat, the rhythm of the guitar. Oddly, I can’t hear the bass πŸ™‚

  1. Well,darling..it’s there..I know it is.
    it’s all about the bass..;)
    just fingering..
    slight and slow, perhaps..πŸ’‹

Leave a Reply

