SOTD: Jim Croce – Time in a Bottle

When Erika Kind posted Joe Cocker’s ‘You are So Beautiful’ as her Song of the Day, I was astounded to realize I’d forgotten about that beautiful, and emotive classic love song. It’s simple lyric delivered perfectly by Joe Cocker. That almost falsetto on the last ‘me’ of the song. The musical score perfect for the theme.

As I thought about that song, I was reminded of this song:

‘Time in a Bottle’ by Jim Croce

Jim Croce wrote the song in December of 1970 when he found out his wife was pregnant. It appeared on his 1972 debut album ‘You Don’t Mess Around With Jim’. Jim was killed in a plane crash in 1973. ‘Time In A Bottle’ became his second and final number 1 single in January 1974. His first number 1 hit was  the 1973 song “Bad, Bad Leroy Brown” from the same album.

Lyric:
If I could save time in a bottle
The first thing that I’d like to do
Is to save every day till eternity passes away
Just to spend them with you

If I could make days last forever
If words could make wishes come true
I’d save every day like a treasure and then
Again, I would spend them with you

But there never seems to be enough time
To do the things you want to do, once you find them
I’ve looked around enough to know
That you’re the one I want to go through time with

If I had a box just for wishes
And dreams that had never come true
The box would be empty, except for the memory of how
They were answered by you

But there never seems to be enough time
To do the things you want to do, once you find them
I’ve looked around enough to know
That you’re the one I want to go through time with

Complete list on the SOTD page.

8 thoughts on “SOTD: Jim Croce – Time in a Bottle

Leave a Reply

